Seafood, Hep A and the reason I should have a steak

I don’t like seafood.

Well, generally I don’t like seafood. My list of acceptable seafood is short: canned tuna, fish and chips, lobster, ‘opihi and maybe one bite of shoyu poke (hold the limu). That’s it.

Ric often says, “You’re the only Japanese/Okinawan/Filipino I’ve ever met that doesn’t like seafood.”  He’s wrong, our daughter Kahea doesn’t like anything that swims in the ocean, and she even has a little bit of Swedish blood.

Since I don’t like seafood, I don’t like sushi either. And because I don’t like sushi, we don’t eat at sushi restaurants. And because we don’t eat at sushi restaurants, I may have saved my whole family from getting Hepatitis A. In case you haven’t heard, there’s been an outbreak of Hep A on O’ahu: 206 confirmed cases. The cause? Contaminated scallops from the Philippines that were served at Genki Sushi Restaurants on O’ahu and Maui. The entire chain has been shut down on both islands and ordered to sanitize and sterilize.

So, since my seafood-hating palate kept us out of Genki Sushi, I think I deserve a trip to The Outback Steakhouse for a Bloomin’ Onion and Victoria’s Filet. See how nicely that worked out?

NOTE: Yes, I know you can contract Hep A from any type of restaurant. I’m just trying to get a steak dinner out of my husband.

Leave a Reply

