And then he turned 21.

When we lived on the Mainland, the last week of August/first week of September was one of the busiest weeks of the year. We had the fair, the halau performance at the fair, back-to-school  shopping, and Easton’s birthday.

The move to Hawai’i meant no state fair, a back-to-school start date of August 1st, and that I wouldn’t be able to take Easton out for a drink for his 21st birthday (which is today, September 8th), or at the very least, send him down to Fred Meyer to buy a bottle of wine, a 30-pack of Busch Light and his own Hard Cider, legally.

I hate not being there for this milestone.

I could bore you with his birth story, or how we came up with his name, or how he was a vegetarian until he was 15 months old and his dad blew it by letting him eat a Happy Meal, but instead I will tell you that I blinked and he turned 21. He’s a pretty awesome human being that is getting a handle on “adulting”.  He’s living the dream, doing what he loves, and  I am proud of him every single day.

If you see him this month, give him a hug, tell him his Mom misses him, and then force him to take a selfie with you and post it to my Facebook page, please. He may be 21, but he’s still my baby and I’d love my Village to surround him so that he knows his family is sending all their Aloha from 2701 miles away!

Hau’oli lā hānau Easton! We love you and miss you and can’t wait for you to come visit!

Easton.jpg

Image by Life N Light Photo.

Leave a Reply

