And then 14 happened

The minute I found out I was going to have a girl, I was terrified. I only knew how to be the mom of a boy, and the thought of having to raise a girl was overwhelming. Easton, who was 6-years old at the time, was at the ultrasound anxiously awaiting the announcement of a little brother. He saw my eyes fill up with tears and said, “It’s ok Momma, maybe she’ll turn into a boy before she’s born.”

She didn’t.

She arrived without incident on September 19th (2 weeks early) and gave me a run for my money until she was about 4-years old when we finally figured out that her constant tantrums were due to tonsils the size of overgrown tomatoes. With her tonsils out, she became a reasonable human being overnight, literally.

She is the most challenging out of my three biological children for one very complicated reason: She’s the one that’s most like me yet she’s not like me at all.

She gets upset with the same things as I do. She has the same insecurities as I did. And she argues just like me. At times, it’s exhausting parenting my mini-me. But here’s where I catch a break: I was rotten as a pre-teen, teen and well into my 20’s, and at 14-years old she’s an amazingly great kid. She’s a good student, a loyal friend, the best daughter/sister, and a Jesus-lover.

Everyone who knows Emery will agree on one thing: Emery has a HUGE heart. She will always see the good in people, no matter how deeply they hurt her. It’s both a blessing and a curse for her, but it’s a lesson for the rest of us, especially me. Everyone always says how beautiful she is, but it’s the beauty of her heart that is overwhelming.

Hau’oli la hanau Emery! You are loved by many forever and always.

10537163_10154334838875237_2019288583908966476_n

A very little Emery with her light hair, big hoop earrings and squeezable cheeks.

 

img_4279

At the top of Koko Head Crater still looking fresh after climbing 1000+ steps straight up.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “And then 14 happened

Leave a Reply

